Art, City, Entertainment

Missing home/ Extraño mi casa, Extraño México

Spanish Below…

This week I realized that I’ve been living in Montréal for more than 7 years. Time flies. Today I really miss home, and I don’t know why, But In my nostalgia I found a clip that  always makes me cry or at least tear up extracts from Babel (2006, Director Iñarritu, excellent by the way). It’s strange because I’m from the south of Mexico and the border is in the north, but I think it’s something in general, a way to feel what it means to be Mexican, to be brown in another country. To be a real immigrant.

Border Patrol Agents Monitor US-Mexico Border The border crossing scene of the movie really makes me melancholic because it’s the shock between two cultures: the border between U.S.A and México. It’s like my heart beats a little faster, seeing the cultural differences, the differences in the way of life. The colours, the beauty of the skin tones, all the colours in general, our banners, our food, our prayers to the virgin of the Guadalupe. And the music… la Cumbia sobre el río de Celso Piña. México is complex. But it’s my childhood, my heart, my first love.

My country is not doing well lately. For me – and thousands of people that have chosen to immigrate – it’s hard to see our people in pain. We have an illiterate president that looks like a leading man in a soap opera and who has reduced the country to the most exacerbated exploitation ever.

When you are inside it’s difficult, but when you are outside you feel guilty. It’s one of the reasons that I don’t waste and I don’t buy things that I don’t need. I think immigration makes you observe your own life from outside, to see where your feet are on the ground, to really see your coordinates.

border 3I’ve learned that what really matters is the love of your family, your loved ones wherever they are and sometimes you can’t have everything in life. I was by myself at the begining in Canada and it was really difficult. Now is my second home. But no doubt  I miss México too much.

Extraño México, Extraño mi hogar

Esta semana caí en la cuenta de que he estado viviendo en Montréal desde hace más de 7 años. El tiempo vuela. Hoy echo mucho de menos mi casa-México, y yo no sé por qué, pero en mi nostalgia he encontrado un clip que siempre me hace llorar, extractos de la película Babel (2006, Director Iñarritu, excelente por cierto). Es extraño porque yo soy del sur de México y la frontera está en el norte, pero creo que es algo en general, una forma de sentir, lo que significa ser mexicano, lo que se siente ser moreno en otro país. Ser un inmigrante real.

blanco y negro border En la escena del cruce de la frontera me pone melancólica, Babel significa nostalgia para mí, son dos minutos pero realmente, es el choque cultural: la frontera entre Estados Unidos y México. Siento como mi corazón late un poco más rápido, al ver las diferencias en la forma de vida. Los colores, la belleza de los tonos de piel, todos los colores en general, nuestras banderas, nuestra comida, nuestras oraciones a la Virgen de Guadalupe. Y la música … la Cumbia Sobre el Río de Celso Piña. México es complejo. Pero es mi infancia, mi corazón, mi primer amor.

Mi país no está bien últimamente. Para mí – y miles de personas que han optado por emigrar – es difícil ver a nuestra gente sufriendo. Tenemos un presidente analfabeta que se parece a un personaje en una telenovela, y que ha reducido el país a la explotación más exacerbada que nunca.

mexicoborderwatchCuando estás dentro, es difícil, pero cuando estás fuera te sientes culpable. Es una de las razones por las que no desperdicio, reciclo y no compro cosas que no necesito. Creo que la inmigración hace que observes tu propia vida desde fuera, te enseña a ver dónde están tus pies sobre el suelo, para encontrar realmente tus coordenadas.

He aprendido que lo que realmente importa es el amor de tus seres queridos donde quiera que estén, a veces no se puede tener todo en la vida. Estuve sola en Canadá y al principio fue muy difícil,ahora es mi segundo hogar. Pero extraño México sin duda.

Related videos

Sorry tienen que ir a youtube a ver la escena de Babel “Mexican Border scene” con la música de Celso Piña , mil disculpas!

Go to youtube to watch the crossing border scene click over this copyright issue sorry!!!!

Estándar

6 thoughts on “Missing home/ Extraño mi casa, Extraño México

Responder

