Art, Cancer Survivor, Health, Life and Death

Why don’t we challenge our bodies more often?/¿Por qué no desafiamos a nuestros cuerpos con más frecuencia?

Last night I was all over YouTube watching videos like the one in the middle of this article. Videos of amazing people, followed by videos of people that practice extreme sports or incredible acrobatics. The whole concept really made me feel nostalgic about the possibility of me being able to run again. I was an intensely physical person before the cancer treatment. I used to work 12 hours a day in a kitchen, sweating, making  a lot of physical effort. I loved it. Now I have to take care with my heart because if my heart rate goes up, I can have a severe asthma attack.

Don’t get me wrong, I feel really blessed just to be alive. It’s just that sometimes I still have fantasies about running, or jumping (things that I have an aversion to now, LOL).

I had to chill out, I didn’t cry about it. I asked myself, why in the last 30 years of my life did I never put my body in movement, in an exercise, in a discipline to enjoy that movement, to enjoy myself, to have all that adrenaline to amuse myself physically?

Why don’t we challenge our bodies more often? Why do we wait until our bodies are no longer working properly to have nostalgia for something that we never tried before? It is a paradox. When we have the opportunity, we don’t take it, and when we no longer have the chance, we feel disappointed.

After thinking about all of this, I had to add it to my bucket list and make it my new years resolution. I want to figure out how to put my body in motion. Snowshoeing could be a good start. I don’t know if my cardiological condition is going to improve, but to be sitting down and waiting to see if that changes, probably doesn’t help. Like Yoda said, “ do or do not…there is no try”.

So I’m going to do everything in my power to make a difference, to shake my body the most that I can.

Here is another incredible video about a guy that conquered Mount Everest with just one lung, and is a two-time cancer survivor. When I landed on this video, I said dude, lets do something about it.

¿Por qué no desafiamos a nuestros cuerpos con más frecuencia?

Anoche estaba mirando YouTube vídeos: Vídeos de gente increíble, vídeos de personas que practican deportes extremos o acrobacias increíbles . Todo el concepto de verdad me hizo sentir nostalgia por la posibilidad de correr de nuevo. Yo era una persona intensamente física antes del tratamiento contra el cáncer . Solía trabajar 12 horas al día en una cocina, sudaba todo el rato, me gustaba el esfuerzo físico. Me encantaba. Ahora tengo que tener cuidado con mi corazón , porque si mi ritmo cardíaco aumenta, puedo tener un ataque de asma grave .
No me malinterpreten, me siento muy bendecida de estar viva. Es sólo que a veces todavía tengo fantasías sobre correr o saltar ( cosas que le tengo una aversión ahora, jajaja) .
Tuve que tranquilizarme, detenerme antes de llorar y preguntarme; ¿por qué en los últimos 30 años de mi vida nunca puse mi cuerpo, en una disciplina, en un ejercicio constante?¿Por qué no pensar en esos términos?, disfrutar del movimiento, sentir toda esa adrenalina en el cuerpo.

¿Por qué no desafiamos a nuestros cuerpos con más frecuencia? ¿Por qué esperamos hasta que nuestros cuerpos ya no están funcionando correctamente para tener nostalgia de algo que nunca hemos intentado antes? Es una paradoja . Cuando tenemos la oportunidad, no la tomamos, y cuando ya no tenemos la oportunidad, nos sentimos decepcionados.

Después de pensar en todo esto, he tenido que añadir a mi lista de deseos, otra resolución de año nuevo . Quiero encontrar la manera de poner mi cuerpo en movimiento. Raquetas de nieve podría ser un buen comienzo. No sé si mi condición cardiológica va a mejorar , pero al estar sentada y esperando a ver si eso cambia, probablemente no ayuda . Como Yoda dijo: “Intentos no. Hazlo. O no lo haces. No hay intentos.”

Así que voy a hacer cuanto esté en mi poder para hacer la diferencia, a mover el cuerpo lo más que pueda.

Aquí está otro vídeo increíble de un hombre que conquistó el Everest con un solo pulmón, y es un sobreviviente de cáncer dos veces . Cuando aterricé en este vídeo, me dije, tengo que hacer algo al respecto.

Estándar

4 thoughts on “Why don’t we challenge our bodies more often?/¿Por qué no desafiamos a nuestros cuerpos con más frecuencia?

  1. irma brito dice:

    Osiris… loved what you’ve written. For the last two years i have been connecting with my body, first through a diet and for the last year i turned into a fitness freak. Its been an incredible, life changing journey for me. Reading you reminded me of how lucky i was to decide the lifestyle change.

Responder

